Member Spotlight

Robyn Garcia Shares Her Story With Us

(click image to view larger)

Although I have loved horses my whole life, I only took a handful of lessons as a kid. It wasn't until my daughter Emma was born and immediately had a passion for horses that I realized our involvement in horses was inevitable. Although Emma started riding when she was around 11, I did not join her until 2016 when we bought Hot Lollipop for me to show in the walk-trot events and eventually work my way up to the loping classes. Since then I have explored several events such as hunter under saddle, trail, showmanship, and horsemanship.

Share your passion and purpose for involvement in the equine community I like to be challenged and try something new and becoming involved in the equine community has definitely helped me to do that and work towards new goals. I also enjoy spending time with my daughter and being on the road to shows with her.

Where do you see the future? I plan on continuing to learn the all around and the pleasure this coming year. My daughter and I will also continue breeding our great mare Hot Lollipop and eventually our new mare Sheza Good Mechanic. We are also excited for the future of our homegrown, coming 2 year old Lollipop Martini aka Cosmo under the guidance of Houston Huff.

What is something that most people in the horse industry do not know about you? I lived in Japan for four years while my father was in the navy. Who are your biggest mentors in the horse industry? My biggest mentors in the horse industry are definitely Jeff Greaves and Lynda Danielson, my two trainers. My daughter Emma is another mentor of mine. I've loved getting to watch her show since she was a 13 and under and now I get to show with her which has been really special.

Favorite part of the Equine Industry? My favorite part of the equine industry is how much everyone helps each other. Everytime I am at a show and I need a helping hand, there is always someone available to help me out. I have also gotten a lot of great advice from fellow horsemen while at shows and I love that we all encourage each other.

When you are not around horses, how do you like to spend your free time? When I am not riding or showing, I am running my medical practice with my husband which keeps me very busy, but I also enjoy winding down with my rescue dog Chico. Thanks for sharing!

What is next? I just bought a new horse at the Congress (Sheza Good Mechanic aka Delta) so I will be learning the pleasure with her this next year as she learns the trail with my trainer Jeff Greaves. I will also be showing my gelding One Good Margarita aka Goodie in the trail.


Illinois Quarter Horse Association | PO Box 27 | Wonder Lake, IL 60097

Contact us at: [email protected]